Having turned, I saw. | Part 1 

2 And the angel of the LORD appeared to him in a flame of fire out of the midst of a bush. He looked, and behold, the bush was burning, yet it was not consumed.

3 And Moses said, “I will turn aside to see this great sight, why the bush is not burned.”

4 When the LORD saw that he turned aside to see, God called to him out of the bush, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.” | Exodus 3:2-4 ESV

The response that Moses gave in seeing the burning bush aflame: “I will turn aside to see..” has made an undeniable  impact in my heart. In this encounter with the Angel of the Lord, he coupled his curiosity with an act of intention to know and discover more–and find out why. And when the Lord saw this response, He met Moses. 

The past month, two things have been greatly intensified and cultivated in my spirit: Hunger and Desire– a deeper hunger for His beauty and excellencies and a growing desire for the Beautiful Man that is in constant pursuit of my heart. With these things in mind, I have made a holy resolve to turn aside and see what He has laid before me, behold Him who alone is worthy, and rediscover the WHY behind what I am doing.

I am processing my thoughts while I write this, which helps me a lot because I am figuring out quite well that this is how I was designed. I digest things better when thoughts get chopped, diced, eventually chewed and understood as it is being expressed through written language.

For many of you– family,friends and partners– you have journeyed with me for the past few months and are aware that I signed up for The Burn Internship (March 28-April 23) ,annually being organized and facilitated by Penang House of Prayer in Penang, Malaysia. But for those who have heard of this for the first time, it will be my joy and privilege to share the major things that greatly brought impact in my heart within that 30-day period.
Being fully engaged in 30 days of deepening and heart expansion, I will never be the same again. It may sound cliche at that,but quite frankly, I have no better words of saying how the whole thing has revolutionized things inside of me. I can post heaps of photos from the Internship (mostly selfies and groupies, because I just had to. And yes, YOLO.) but it will not fully describe nor encapsulate all the heavenly downloads and revelations I have received. You have to experience it for yourself! Even so, praying this account of mine would spur you on to go great lengths in going hard after Him and in pursuing what He has called you to do.

Before coming to the Burn Internship, I felt the Lord strongly instructing me to come as a learner. In coming in as a student, I need to be willing to learn and receive,laying aside everything I deemed to know. I have yet to grasp things in a different light, and fully embrace what He has called me to walk in;even in understanding again WHY I chose to walk the narrow path and why exactly I’m doing what I am doing. The Internship was Abba’s platform for Him to draw me closer to Him, revealing the reality of His jealousy for my heart.
Here are the burning questions that arose in me all throughout the Internship; and these pretty much allowed me to dig in deep and process things:
1. WHO ARE YOU?

         I’ve realized once again, that we cannot exhaust who He is. You think you know Him, but then you arrive at a certain place in this walk and you realize that there is much more to know. In this journey with Him, it seems like He is always releasing that invitation to GO DEEPER in knowing more about Him– further up and further in. 

         I definitely cannot say that I have attained knowing the fullness of His awesomeness– because I just can’t, and I may never will. Even the seraphims, the twenty-four elders and the heavenly hosts surrounding Him, worshiping day and night since eternity past are in constant adoration of His beauty. And they still get blown away by His glory and enamored by the grandeur of this Holy, uncreated, God who dwells in unapproachable light. 

BUT what a beautiful revelation He gives, that it is in His heart to make Himself known. We get to be invited in diving deep of His excellencies. WOW. As we desire to know Him, He strips off the veil and remove the scales off our eyes. When we ask of Him to release the Spirit of Wisdom and Revelation (Ephesians 1:17), He gladly indulges. He loves to make Himself known to the hungry; and to those who seek Him, it is His good pleasure to reveal Himself. 

I challenge you (preaching to myself,too), to be intentional in going hard after Him. Get to know Him. Talk to Him. Spend time in going deep in His Word and drinking of the Well that never runs dry. And allow this LOVE to know you. Because this is the truth: There is so much about Jesus that we don’t know yet; we have barely known Him. There is so much more to anticipate than much to remember. 

The more we know Him, the more we love Him. And the more we desire of Him, the more we long for Him and to see Him face to face on that Day. In light of this,more questions are being birthed– If God loves us for who we are, can we love Him for who He is? And how can we love Him without any agenda? 

 These questions, I believe, allows us to have a platform for an ongoing conversation with this Beautiful Man. And may we all grow in the knowledge of Him,whose desire and ultimate longing is for us.

Leave a Reply

